We have lost the run of ourselves...

BOXtheFOX

Just reading the Irish Independepent Fine Wine and Food Guide supplement.
One restaurant that was visited by a critic in Malahide was given a 4 star value for money rating for an 8 course Tasting Menu that cost €130 per head.
Another critic visited the Macreddin village hotel and gave a 4 star value rating for his meal where his two year old child was charged €20 for a child lunch that consisted of mashed potatoes and chicken with gravy and a bowl of ice cream.
I have just returned from France where I had some really excellent Menu of the Day, three course meals for €12 per person. Splash out on the €14 menu and you got an even bigger choice sometimes with a pitcher of the local wine thrown in.
With Ryanair flights at 1c........

Obviously I'm not a food expert - but I'm no fool in this regard either.

I really think a lot of what you mention is a symptom of the more unsavoury side of the 'celtic tiger'. If something is expensive therefore it is desirable and must be of high quality. This extends to clothes, appliances, vehicles and even food.

I have eaten in very expensive restaurants before - sometimes they have been very good but often average and sometimes poor. Critics are one thing but a lot of people who eat in these places clearly haven't got a clue about good food - every single morsel tastes "absolutely gorgeous".

They think that people expect to hear this and they are too afraid/ignorant to say anything different.

Yes, a lot of places are overpriced but the fools who patronise these establishments, regardless of their quality, annoy me even more.

(Not necessarily directed at the above mentioned by the way!)

I always assume that the reasons for higher prices here is partly down to the higher cost of labour, and over heads generally.

I always assume that the reasons for higher prices here is partly down to the higher cost of labour, and over heads generally.