warning message on cdwow

Carzy

I want to buy a couple of kids DVD's on CDWOW.ie but when "adding to the cart" i get the following warning:

Please ensure that your DVD player is able to play discs designed for
Region 2</SPAN> (UK & Europe/Japan)

Does anyone know what this means? I presume Ireland is covered under Europe...but dont want to purchase if they wont play for me....?

Yes - Ireland is included in Region 2 so you should have no problem with a player bought locally. Make sure by trying out a pre-recorded region 2 DVD in your player in in doubt.

where can I check that a dvd is region 2 compatible
as you can see i'm not very technically minded

where can I check that a dvd is region 2 compatible
as you can see i'm not very technically minded

If your DVD player will play DVDs you rent in a video store or buy in Ireland, then it is Region 2 compatible.

When buying a DVD, it will typically say what region it is, for example, the message on CDWOW says region2, so you are in buisness.

Region incompatibility is typically only an issue when you get DVDs from further afield than europe.

if you bought your dvd player in ireland then this dvd will work on it. if you have any other dvds they should have on the back of the case a '2' in a square which denotes the region (even if they don't, chances are if you bought the dvd here, it's a region 2). i would presume you're buying this dvd off either cdwows hong kong or american site as that warning would not usually appear if you're buying from the irish site.

thanks guys
will be watching toy story over and over for the next year now..!

if u check the back of ur dvd player as well some of them have a small graphic of a globe with the region number in it...

Hi Carzy,

The last time I purchased a DVD on CD-WOW I got the same warning message as you did, but I purchased the DVD anyway and it plays perfectly fine on my DVD player which was got in Ireland.