Volvo S40 Diesel - 1.6 SE model

Daddy

This is supposed to do a combined 67 miles per gallon or use a cobined 4.9 litres per 100kms according to the dealers. Anyone care to comment on this as being accurate. I bought one 2 months ago and the average fuel I'm using per the information on the dash is 6.5 litres per 100kms and I'm an average type driver. Big difference per what Volvo says the car can do and per what I'm doing ?

When you say 'average' what do you mean?
The Volvo claim will most likely be based on a combined cycle (city/country)

Average - means for me that I'm not a hard driver on a car and being an average driver that I would expect to achieve something close to the combined figure Volvo claim the car should be doing i.e cobined cycle of 4.9 lts per 100kms. So, I'm just wondering what other Volvo car drivers of the same type car are achieving as there is a huge difference between a claimed 4.9lts and 6.5lts per 100kms.

It was never going to do 67mpg. That's a constant speed figure (100kph?)

I ran the same engine as yours in a Focus C-Max and when I was really gentle on a country I could average well over 60mpg. Allowing for urban driving, cold start ups, and faster crusing and overtaking I think the averages went down into the mid/high 40's. Still not bad.

Make sure your tyre pressures are right, you do not carry extra weight unneccesarily, that windows are kept shut, roof racks etc. removed, and a/c used only when needed. Smoother driving will help too. Shift up at 2500rpm. Avoid hard braking by anticipating the road ahead.

Boring but it all adds up.

Thanks for the advice.

OK maybe never going to do 67 m.p.g unless your driving on Australian roads and stick her on cruise control.

But the combined urban/rural is supposed to come in at 4.9 lts per 100kms travelled.

Anyone buying the car would think this is what is achievable but frankly it is'nt by a long chalk.