VAT - Is it changing to quarterly

Simply answer is yes.

September, October, November and December is now due since January 19th.

Simply answer is yes.

September, October, November and December is now due since January 19th.

...not for everyone. Some are still on bi-monthly. Some are on quarterly. Some are on six-monthly. Frankly, the system is a bit of a mess at the moment. I can't see how Brian Cowen didn't realise this when he brought in this half-baked measure in the 2007 Budget.

Apologies, should have stated that I am a sole trader and that the quarterly applies to me. Thanks for the clarification Ubiquitous .

Check on www.ros.ie or www.revenue.ie to what VAT return system applies.

If your annual VAT liability is less than €3k you are entitled to make VAT returns on a six-monthly basis. If it's between 3k and 14k, you can do returns every four months.

In practice what is happening is that Revenue are issuing VAT3 returns to each VAT registered business depending how their records classify the annual VAT liabilities. It seems to be pretty random as I have seen some tiny businesses with very small liabilities continuing to get bimonthly returns

It certainly does seem random. I believe that you can contact revenue and request to be put back on the bi-monthly system.

Indeed you can. But if in the meantime you fail to complete and file your VAT returns pending this adjustment, you may have the Sheriff on your doorstep before you know it.

I contacted revenue recently on this matter. I was a sole trader and Revenue had contacted me to tell me that they were switching me on to the quarterly system, which i didn't mind at all.

However, some months later I changed to a Ltd. Co. and I was automatically put on to the bi-monthly system. When I contacted Revenue I was told that they need to assess my turnover over the next 12 months and will then make a decision.