Using Bluetooth to transfer photos, music etc. to phone

I'm far from an expert but I think the data transfer rate for Bluetooth connections isn't great, only up to 3.0 Mbps, whereas USB 2.0 transfers at up to 480 Mbps.

I would think that Bluetooth connections are going to be very slow for data transfers of large files - MP3 and picture files are usually a couple of MB each

efm said:
I'm far from an expert but I think the data transfer rate for Bluetooth connections isn't great, only up to 3.0 Mbps, whereas USB 2.0 transfers at up to 480 Mbps.

Yikes! So 60 times slower than USB?

I do note this from the spec

Bluetooth 2.0 EDR (Enhanced Data Rate) technology: up to 3 times higher data transfer rate then standard Bluetooth

So hopefully only 53 times slower than USB .

Bluetooth 2.0 EDR (Enhanced Data Rate) technology: up to 3 times higher data transfer rate then standard Bluetooth

Yes - unfortunately that was the transfer rate I quoted !! - ie Bluetooth 2.0 EDR = 3.0 Mbps

I've transferred a few music tracks onto my phone and a few photos & video clips off my phone via Bluetooth. It is certainly manageable, though I wouldn't like to be sitting around waiting for them to finish.

My main dissapointment was that the Nokia Data Suite won't run over my bluetooth connection, so I can't use the nice Nokia facilities for backing up my contacts etc.

RainyDay said:
My main dissapointment was that the Nokia Data Suite won't run over my bluetooth connection, so I can't use the nice Nokia facilities for backing up my contacts etc.

But the music manager etc. still works will Bluetooth, yes?

Aldi are selling a bluetooth USB Dongle today for €12.99. I don't know if it is the same thing you are talking about but it seems like a good price.

"Allows wireless Bluetooth connection between a PC and other Bluetooth devices, as well as internet access.
  • Enables file sharing with other Bluetooth PCs