Upgrading RAM

lyonsa3

Complete novice here and I looking at ungrading RAM of PC. Sorry in advance but all these letters and numbers cnnected to RAM is well over my head.
I carried out an web check of my system. What i seem to have is an Intel (R) Celeron (R) CPU 2.66GHZ Model 3, Shipping 4. CPU speed 2680 MHz and current memory 256mb with max capacity 2048mb.

Checking web sites shows me RAM that is compatible but them seem to differ a lot. One such RAM has a spec of; DDR PC2700 CL=2.5 Unbuffered NON-ECC DDR333 2.5V 128Meg x 64
Compared to a second of; DDR PC4000 3-4-4-8 Unbuffered NON-ECC DDR500 2.8V 128Meg x 64

1. First of all do I need RAM that matched my current RAM spec and if so how do I find the spec of my current RAM?

2. The web check stated that each memory slot can hold DDR PC2700, DDR PC3200 or DDR PC4000. Do I need to get a matching speed of my current RAM or can they be mixed?

3. What is the difference in the second DDR number (DDR333 vs DDR500) and are they both compatible?

4. What is the difference in the voltage of the RAM (2.5V - 2.8V) and yet again are both compatible?

I'm sure there all basic questions but any help would be of great benifit.

I upgraded memory recently and I used http://www.shop4memory.com/ based in Kildare. They seem to be very good on price and delivery is free if 3 or 4 days by post is ok. It might be worth your while checking them out and even emailing them with your details, they will know what RAM you need and less hassle for you. You can also use a their online memory configurator to look up your PC brand/model.

You really need to buy from an outlet (online or otherwise) that gives a money back guarantee if the parts they supply are not compatible. Otherwise there is simply too much risk of buying seemingly compatible parts that don't actually work.