upgrade degree

B

bdoo

i have a quick question. Any comments are welcome.

I completed a four year degree course in 2001 in Business Studies @ DIT , i failed one a my last year subjects so i now have an ordinary degree (which is a level 7 i assume ?)

If i want to do a masters ? I assume that i will have to bring that up to level 8 .

Am i right in saying ? That if was to do a part time four year level 8 degree in Carlow IT which is a level 8 this would sort my problem ? I'm assuming i might be exempt from 1st year or second year as all my results through the DIT course were quite good (until my final year!!)

Or is there an easier way ?

Thanks in advance

It is a general pattern that the requirement for entering a master's degree programme is an honours primary degree, but it is not always a strict one. It might be worth shopping around with evidence of achieving good standards in the earlier years of your degree programme (and possibly also with some good relevant postgraduate experience -- you don't say what you have been doing since 2001). The worst that can happen is that everybody turns you down, which won't leave you worse off than at present, except for the loss of a bit of time and incurring some communications expenses. It's a much smaller cost than signing on for another primary degree.

Agreed , i suppose some of the reason i want to reattend part time is so i can save to do a masters i.e. (take a year out unpaid) and secondly i'm not sure exactly what i would like to do. I think if i expose myself to third level education it would give me some ideas before i choose one , the other thing is i came from a family of teachers so this is not an option until i achieve a level 8 . (I dont think i would do it but its nice to have the option.)