Underfloor hearing - underlay for wooden floors & carpets

T

Treas

Hi Folks,

This is my first time. . !! I have to do some research inot the best underlay for both semi-solid wooden floors & carpets with my main priority being the conduction of heat. I am at the latter stages of a self-build with geothermal/underfloor heating and know from the off-set that there are products available so now I just have to track them down. If anyone has any tips or advice for me I would very much appreciate it!

Many thaks in advance.

Treas

Hi, I am looking at same setup (mostly semi-solid, no carpet), but most advice I am getting is to stick timber flooring directly to screed. Special glue of course and very expensive I believe but if conduction of heat is the priority then underlay may not be an option. Of course there may be special stuff out there - I haven't looked for it myself.

Re: Underfloor heating - underlay for wooden floors & carpets

If you go to most flooring outlets they will have underlay to do underfloor heating for both wooden flooring and carpets. The underlay is different for both. I don't think sticking it directly to the concrete floor is a good option. Underlay lets it breath and provides a cusion so it's not as hard to walk on. Also one major outlet tried to sell me solid engineered flooring for underfloor heating saying that it's all that can be used. It cost over 50euro a sq yard!! I put laminate in the bedrooms and semi solid in the sitting room. No Problems. Carpet is not recommended but I think it should be O.K in small areas.

How are you getting over the fact that wood is not a good heat conductor? When you install underfloor heating, the floor becomes the "heater". Wood you embed your conventional radiators with solid wood and expect a good performance?

Correct me if I'm wrong, but surely all the efficiencies of UFH go out the window if you install it this way?