Ulster bank calling my loan in

Senor_Frog

Hi all , First time posting here. I wish it was under happy circumstances.

So here is my background story:
I owe 3200 to ulster bank for a student loan. I also owe a 650 overdraft to ulster bank. I have had the loan for three years. Up until this point I have been paying interest only on the loan. I missed a few payments back in sept-dec maybe a maximum of 5.

The terms of the loan have been up since December 2011 but I continued to pay interest only. Ulsterbank contacted me about the loan, I apologised about missing the payments and assured them it was a once off. I also explained that I am still a student, currently doing a postgrad and that I will be graduating within the next 7 months.

They were happy to do up a new loan agreement consolidating the overdraft and the loan amount, so the new loan would total 3850. The terms were to be interest only until I graduated.

When I originally got the loan my father went as guarantor on it. He is now not in a position to do so. So I am left with no guarantor for the new loan agreement. When I informed ulster bank of this they told me they therefore cannot give me the new loan and that they had passed the old loan onto there collections department.

I contacted the collections department and they told me that without a guarantor the only option I have is to repay the outstanding amount within the next 18months, I believe they said that it would be roughly 210 euro a month. If I cannot then the will right off the loan, and I will be blacklisted for credit for 6 years, and they will close my bank account. Therefore declaring me bankrupt?

I tried to make the point to the collections department that I don't want the loan written off and that I fully intend to pay it back, but that I am a student at the moment and can only afford to pay interest only. Once I graduate (I will be receiving a placement) I would be more than happy to start paying off the loan.