UK student loan - overseas confusion

L

laura.04

Hi everyone,

I have a (large) UK student loan and I graduated in June 2008. However, I've just moved to the Netherlands to start a PhD and I know I won't be working in the UK for some time, if ever. I know I'm not required to start repayments until April 2009 but under the new (post-1998) guidelines I can't defer if I go on to further study. It doesn't help that I pay tax etc over here, so I'm wondering what the rules are for defaulting on my loan?

In theory, for the Netherlands I would be paying 9% of all my earnings over 15,000 pounds (considering the current exchange rate, I'm going to assume that's the same as 15,000 euros) so it would be 9% of ~9,000. The tax is high though and I have a lot of expenses I didn't have in the UK, such as health insurance and all sorts of compulsory employees' insurances (for example, seeing as I'm 23, single and have no dependents it seems odd that I have to pay insurance to take care of my dependents in the case of my death). Is that taken into account or is it just standard from your gross income?

I know that the student loans company don't pass on the details to credit card companies etc so I won't be blacklisted, but I don't know how long I have to be MIA for until they cancel the debt. What charges they are allowed to put on me if I don't make my repayments? Unsurprisingly, the student loans company website does not provide information on penalties and defaulting on loans, so all I have to go on is rumour and things I read on forums (which usually don't specify whether it's a pre- or post-1998 loan).

Please help!

Laura

"Unsurprisingly, the student loans company website does not provide information on penalties and defaulting on loans,"