UK Reg'd Car loaned to Irish resident

PetrolHead

Hi All

To put this question in context, I’m a UK citizen living in Ireland and all my family are still in the UK.

Due to personal circumstances I need a car for 6 – 12 months and my father has offered to lend me his car for the duration. It is taxed and MOT’d (i.e. road legal) in the UK and I am a named driver on the insurance (although I am already pricing my own cover as named driver isn’t strictly for extended periods such as this).

My question is related to the view the revenue might take of this situation.

I’ve read a number of stories of people having their cars confiscated due to not re-registering them here and therefore, not paying the VRT and I’d be a bit concerned they might rock up and demand the keys.

Where would I stand? Any ideas?

I'd reckon without contacting customs that it probably should be re-registered with a Irish plate. Could you get away with it.. Probably yes... My brother did for about 18 months before a Garda pulled him over on the M50 and called his bluff. Been English and with the accent you'd probably get away with it if asked at a checkpoint...

You may have a problem with your UK insurer. They may only offer third party cover.

I’ve read a number of stories of people having their cars confiscated due to not re-registering them here and therefore, not paying the VRT and I’d be a bit concerned they might rock up and demand the keys.

Where would I stand? Any ideas?

I think if you hold a UK driving licence you will get away with it. If you hold an Irish licence, you will be playing Russian roulette but may well get away with it for a few months.

The clear issue is that OP is an Irish resident, not a visitor.