UK Pension tax liability- Retired Irish tax resident

frankbrett

Hi, I'm looking for advice on an issue and didn't receive great clarity from speaking to HMRC and Irish Revenue.

My father is a retired Irish resident and receives a UK state pension as his only source of income. His pension proceeds of £14k exceeds the free allowance of £11k so he has received a tax bill of £250 which presumably will be a recurring issue annually. As an Irish tax resident my understanding is that he is not liable for UK tax and his pension is treated as overseas income by Irish Revenue.

From my calls, it seems the advice given by HMRC is to complete a double taxation exemption form to claim a refund on UK tax, while on the Irish side, to register for self assessment, declare the UK Pension proceeds as overseas income. Should then be able to generate a Statement of Liability for 2023 that can be furnished to HMRC to confirm the income is taxed (or not) in Ireland. As an over 65 married tax unit I believe the income would be below any taxable threshold.

Does anyone have any experience working through this process that can advise on the correct steps to follow?

Sounds odd. He's resident in Ireland? HMRC have the correct address? Is the pension paid into an Irish bank account? Should only be taxable in Ireland as far as I can see. Also don't understand how the figure of £250 was arrived at.

Sounds odd. He's resident in Ireland? HMRC have the correct address? Is the pension paid into an Irish bank account? Should only be taxable in Ireland as far as I can see. Also don't understand how the figure of £250 was arrived at.