UK credit card debt and death of cardholder

Edenbridge14

Hi folks
Not sure what to do in this instance
My dad passed away last week - may he RIP.
Hes originally from UK but living in Ireland for last 15 years
He has a UK credit card with balance of 3000 Sterling and he used to pay 50 a month
Mum is struggling to pay the funeral as it is of 6000
As his daughter is there anything anyone can advise ?

Sorry for your loss.
I'm no expert, but... I'd suggest not stressing over it in the short/medium term. Its an unsecured debt in a different country, they are not going to come knocking on your door. Whoever is responsible for administrating his estate should probably contact them to tell them he has passed away, then they should stop adding interest.

Your dad has clearly paid them a lot of interest over the years.

I would just post them anonymously a copy of a statement and his death certificate. Don't mention next of kin or executor.

You might never hear from them again.

Its an unsecured debt in a different country, they are not going to come knocking on your door.
I would just post them anonymously a copy of a statement and his death certificate. Don't mention next of kin or executor.

So people shouldn't pay their debts if they are in a different country or if it's hard for the lender to recover it?

Or is it that people should try to escape credit card debts?

If the father had assets at his death, his executor or administrator will be obliged to use those assets to pay his debts and should do so.

If the father had no assets, then the debt can't be paid and the administrator should notify the credit card company.

Brendan

Reactions: jpd

If the father had no assets, then the debt can't be paid and the administrator should notify the credit card company.

The OP did not indicate that she was executor or administrator.

My practical advice to the family was simply to inform the credit card company immediately and officially of his death.