treatment of ins money received

C

confusedchi

As a sole trader I recently received an insurance payment against a vehicle which was written off. Please advise on how to record the following:
1) loss of asset (value recorded with depreciation last year)
2) receipt of insurance payment (moeny recd was less VAT and excess) - not income received I assume
3) treatment of net loss between recorded value and money received

I am using TAS basics as accounting software - specific advice would be much appreciated! I assume that purchase of replacement vehicle not affected by insurance transactions and simply recorded as asset:addition and depreciated at year end?

Thanks

Are you preparing your own accounts for tax returns? If you can't leave it for your accountant to do journals on you would:
enter the insurance receipt into the bank and credit the vehicle asset code (balance sheet).
Do a journal (if you can, I don't have the Tas basics in front of me) to debit vehicle depreciation on the balance sheet, credit the asset code.
Also credit the asset code with the calculated loss, debit a code on the profit and loss expense side with corresponding loss on disposal of asset.

Say van was €10,000, accumulated depreciation so far €2,000, you got €5,000 from insurance. After the above journals, the vehicle cost on balance sheet will have decreased €10,000, accumulated depreciation be €2,000 lower, and in the profit and loss expenses there will be a figure of €3,000 as loss on disposal of asset.

If you are doing the tax computation that disposal loss won't form part of your trading profit and loss. Instead you would have to look at capital allowances.