Transferring money from Dubai to Ireland to save and clear a €9k debt

F

FullBeard

Hi Folks,

I asked this elsewhere but didn't get a very specific reply and, as I'm new to international transfers, I do need specifics.

Here are some points about my financial situation:

- Basically, I'll be in Dubai very shortly for the long haul. I will be paid around 3.5k euro per month tax-free. I will also receive two lump sum payments of 10k euro twice per year. Note that I am providing the amount in euro; the currency that the payment is made in is AED.
I will receive the first 10k + 3.5k in late September. I have no dependants or spouse.

- Back in Ireland, where I currently am, my finances aren't so hot. I had a student loan of 15k euro, which I have now reduced to €9k over the past 10 months. I owe this money to AIB, who take €277 automatically to service the loan each month. I make additional payments every month; that's why I've managed to pay back €6k in ten months.

- I have no other debts at all, but also no assets or savings.

- When I move to Dubai, I am going to claim tax back from the Irish state for the financial year 2012. This should see approx €1,500 -- maybe more -- come back to my Irish current account. I will also sell my car, which will give me another €1k. I also intend to reclaim my pension, which will give me another €1k (I've looked into it and can do it as I'm with my current employer less than 2 years).

- So, when I leave Ireland at the end of August, I will have the following accounts with AIB in Ireland:

Current account: +2750 EUR
Loan account: -8100 EUR
Credit card: 0 EUR​

^^ Not so good.

But, as mentioned above, my income will increase dramatically from late September onwards. My take home pay in euro will increase by 225% per annum, bearing in mind salary increases and 0% tax. I've factored in everything else -- including accommodation in Dubai.

So now I come to the nub of my query and the point of this post: