Too much rent?

colin79ie

I am a student and renting a house near the college. Basically, I am being charged the following rent:

charged €1620 for 18 weeks 'first term' until 31st december 07
€1620 for 18 weeks 'term 2' from 01st Jan 08
€720 for 8 weeks 'term 3' until mid june.

I moved into the house on 16th september 07. If added up, 44 weeks goes into mid july. I will be finished end may/early june.

Is it legal for a landlord to take all this rent money for time when I am not there? Cannot see anything in the letting agreement.

Where can I find information about this subject?

Ar e you paying the rent all up front ??? Thats mad ! If you cant trust your self with the cash give it to some one who can mnd it for you !

You normally only pay rent weekly or monthly in arrears. ie 1 month upfront and then pay every month.

If you are going to be gone out of the place at a certain period in the future all normally you would do is give a months notice of this date and leave.

Your SU is the best place for face to face direct advice on this, you can ask all the Qs you want and get immediate answers.

Also talk to www.threshold.ie

I assume by the sound of it you are stayig in a student specific accomodation and being screwed by paying all up front !

I have paid for term 1 and 2 but I am not going to pay for term 3.

Just want to have my facts straight before I challenge the landlord on it.

Thanks

You should go to your Student Union immediately with your tenancy agreement (if you have been given one) and if possible a written invoice from your landlord containing the peculiar arrangement that seems to be imposed in your case.