tiling on floating wood floor

brian

Hi all,

I am going to lay travertine tiles in my hall and kitchen.
The hall and a small part of the kitchen has a floating wood floor. The portion of the kitchen with the wood floor is about 3m X 2m, the rest is a concrete extension. I plan to lay the tiles over the whole kitchen.
I have read in a diy book that 1/2 inch plywood needs to be layed first to strengthen the wood floor.

Is 1/2 inch plywood really necessary, would a 1/4 inch do? (cheaper and easier to lay)?
The tiles are stone and are porous. Do I have to use a special tile cement that will not stain the face side up of the tile i.e. soak through?
I plan to lay them with a very small space between i.e. < 3mm. Is there anything special I need to be aware of doing this?

any advice appreaciated,

thanks,

Brian

What do you mean by floating floor? You would need a very solid base for all tiling. You need to minimise the amount movement in the timber. Im no tiling expert but i would think for travertine a screed would be a better base. I would go for the 1/2 board over the 1/4 inch, which would give no strenght at all. Its not much dearer or easier to lay. the tiles will have to be sealed i sure if you search some threads here you will get some details

When you say a floating floor I presume you mean regular floorboards sitting on wooden joists. If this is the case then I would first look at this portion of the room and do a bit of bounching around to ensure there is not alot of movement in the floor i.e. the joists are solid. If there is a bit too much movement cut the flooboards in that area and wedge blocks of wood or some other support under the joist.

Once the sub-floor is solid enough, then 6mm or 9mm plywood will do the job. Use whatever you need to keep it level with the concrete side of the floor or else use levelling compound to bring the concrete side level with the wooden side.