Thinker not Doer!

mortgageqs

I've been working as a sole trader doing IT Consulting for just over 2 years. I have lots of ideas for new businesses (some of them web based) but after the initial momentum I get bogged down with everyday work and cant get back into the "zone".

I'm thinking that maybe I should find someone (either on a consulting / mentor or employee) basis to help me take these ideas to the next level. I'm not good with "boring" stuff but I know some of these ideas could take off.

I'm not sure what kind of person I should be looking for to help me - Any tips?

The devil is in the detail. An Entrepreneur is not someone who comes up with good ideas but someone who materialises them. My tip; get good with the "boring stuff".

Suggest you get better at networking and see who is out there. I know of a number of people who would get behind a good idea and work to make it a reality. There are lots of conferences coming up (the BizSpark one on 24th Feb and that other one in the Digital Hub in March, just to name two in the next few weeks) and there are lots of other regular meetings (such as the open coffee meetings) that happen where you can meet other people and get an idea of who is who. I'm not suggesting that you hawk your idea at these places, but just meet people who can point you to talking to others that you can build a relationship with.

You also need to be realistic about the loss of control involved if you do ask someone else into the "inner circle" to make something happen. Likely you will have to take a back seat and let them run with it - the risk/reward needs to work both ways.

mortgage qs, in the nicest way possible, it sounds like the problem here is laziness. if you're genuinely excited by your ideas then even the "boring" stuff should tickle you pink.