Tax on part time hairdressing business.

4400kevin

Im asking for advice on behalf of my wife on how to pay tax on money earned from part time hairdressing.I am a plastering contractor and my wife is an empoyee of my company earning around €400 per week.The plastering trade like most others has slowed down recently so we have converted the garage into a mini salon and she hopes to work evenings and perhaps weekends.I would like to know what she must now do to remain tax compliant?

Thanks.

Im asking for advice on behalf of my wife on how to pay tax on money earned from part time hairdressing.I am a plastering contractor and my wife is an empoyee of my company earning around €400 per week.The plastering trade like most others has slowed down recently so we have converted the garage into a mini salon and she hopes to work evenings and perhaps weekends.I would like to know what she must now do to remain tax compliant?

Thanks.

may thing is to register so she is in the system

www.revenue.ie/en/tax/vat/forms/formtr1.pdf

link above to tax registration form(unlikely to register for vat)

main thing is keep record of income and expenditure and separte bank account for it.

once a year file tax return with her paye/ your paye and her parttime business

depending what way your tax credits/bands divided, want to save some money for future tax

give us here an estimate of your salary her salary and how credit/bands divided and we can give you indication whether business taxed at lower or higher rate of tax

Thanks for the reply.On average I would have a wage of 500 per week and herself 400 per week this is a take home amount If she made 100 per week form the hairdressing it would be a great help.

Thanks for the reply.On average I would have a wage of 500 per week and herself 400 per week this is a take home amount If she made 100 per week form the hairdressing it would be a great help.

Should be all at lower rate. File the tr1 and keep records.