TalkTalk - are they talking advantage of people?

S

Speeds

Hi all,

I'm a newbie poster to this discussion baord, so apologies if I am repeating concerns that have gone before.

I chnaged my rather elderly parents telco to Euphony in August '05, and they have enjoyed the service to date. Unfortunately they recieve a large number of calles from telemarketers, Talk Talk in particular, a fact I was unaware of. If I had been aware, I would have registered them with the NDD, I know, I should have done it by default! My bad.

Anyway, when I called to visit them today, I was shown a letter from Talk Talk, telling them that they had not paid their bill of E74, and theat they would be disconnected. True enough, they cannot make outgoing calls. But the FACT is that they not customers of TalkTalk.

My mother has just admitted that she may have inadvertantly said something to one of the many callers which could have been interpreted as consent to change provider. But they never signed anything, and never recieved a bill, until a Reminder arrived.

At the moment I am on my mobile to them, on hold for the past 25 minutes, and I am getting irked to say the least.

My father is seriously ill - he has Alzheimers/Epilepsy/Mulitple Strokes/Kidney/Heart/Prostate & Liver problems. They seriously need an active telephone line. Which is why their phone bills are always paid by direct debit.

I am furious with TalkTalk.

Speeds

Eircom took my Mother off pay as you go and stuck her on Minimum usage when she never asked for it -she had to ring them and get it sorted -I told her to ask for some compensation -the guy says -ah i'll stick a fiver credit on your a/c -the Regulator is one big joke -these companies are ruthless -no morals whatsoever. You have to constantly check your bills. Dont go with Direct Debit for anything would be my strong advice. Terrible that you have to check everything but you have. The Regulator wont check it for you.