taking child out of school

minkydog

Hi All

Just looking for a bit of advice.

Planning hols for next year - we normally go to the states for six weeks but daughter has started school this year. Flights etc during school holiday are crazy money so am considering taking her out of school for the duration perhaps around Easter hols, returning to school late in September, or leaving before end of summer term.

Have parent teacher meeting in school next week and just wondering how to approach the subject with the teacher.

I am a qualified teacher myself so would be very willing to do work with her during the holiday. I am currently a stay at home mum in case you are wondering how I can take term time off.

All and any advice appreciated

Easter to late September is a bit longer than 6 weeks

Personally I think you should take your role as a parent a bit more seriously, but that's just me

no i mean we will either go at Easter or September. - the very fact that I am asking of advice shows I am taking this very seriously as I said I am more than willing to do the work with her on holidays. I do feel a bit upset at your comment stating I am not taking my parenting role seriously but that is your opinion.

We do need to spend that much time in the USA as we have a business there.

Well my comment was based on you going from Easter to end-September which would be an absolute disgrace

However it's a lot of school for a child to miss, even one as young as 5. What are you going to do as the child gets older and the schooling is more important than when in infants. There's more to school than just learning as well.

Also, if the child misses more than 20 days then the school is obliged to inform the Dept of Education (our school had to send one about our son who was quite ill last year and missed 20-25 days). If the Dept get a letter every year then they could start asking questions and getting other authorities involved.