Switching Current Account

pudds

Ulster bank will give me €150 if I switch my account from EBS to them.
Before doing this can I open a 2nd EBS account as I want to stay with them for a couple of reason's.

I've checked out the T & C's of the Ulster Bank a/c and they suit me fine.

If yes will I have to explain why I want a second account and when they see my original account being switched later could this cause any hassle for me.

Before doing this can I open a 2nd EBS account

I'm no expert but I doubt very much that you can open a 2nd Current Account within the same EBS branch. A Current Account is classed as a persons "Main Account" and as part of the T & C's the holder usually has to pay their salary into the account each month.

Ulster bank will give me €150 if I switch my account from EBS to them

As part of the T & C's the account holder has to pay their salary into the account each month for a minimum period of 18 months. If this is not carried out Ulster Bank will debit your account €150. You may already know this but I just thought I'd point it out anyway.

I'm aware of the 18mth but it sounds good to me, €150

My EBS which is not a bank, and does not have "current accounts" but do have savings accounts and I have there basic a/c called Instant access" but can pay my bills through direct debit and no charges. Details:

Instant Access - minimum balance €1

Our Instant Access account allows you to save while having instant access to your money.

Features

• No fees or charges
  • Funds available on demand
  • Minimum balance €1
  • Tiered interest rates - higher balances earn higher rates
  • Pay your EBS mortgage from this account
  • Choice of passbook or ATM card
Ulster Bank said they could switch this to them and I'd get the €150 (assistant manager) just wondering is he pulling a fast one on me, just to tell me later that my EBS is not accepted as a "current account" he was very anxious to nab me, but I made no final decision till tomorrow.