Student Loans: How do they work? Is it easy to get one? What are the rates? Duration?

BetsyClark

I am a mature student, with one year of a 4 year degree completed. To date I have funded myself using savings, which are running out and will be gone by Christmas.

My husband works and earns more than the average industrial wage and he pays all of the household bills, mortgage etc, so there is very little left over each month. He has a creditcard debt and pays the minimum monthly, and a bit more when possible.

In order to continue with my course I will need to pay a child minder €125 per week, plus will need petrol, food, books. I have a UK endowment fund maturing in 5 years, and need to pay £145 per month to that.

Before I consider getting a loan can anyone tell me if I will appear foolish, will the bank laugh me out of the place? Should I cut my losses with the endowment and cash it in now?

Do I stand any chance of getting a student loan? If so, do I apply for a year at a time, or, based on what I think I will need, apply for 3 years of funding? When do repayments start on student loans?

Any help of advice would be appreciated.

Many thanks

Betsy

I don't think you'll be laughed out of the place but I do think you're going to find it tough to actually get a loan large enough to live off for 3 years (and I'm not sure that banks are offering students a delayed repayment facility at the moment, you might have to start paying it straight away). Best thing to do would be to go into your SU, they'd have info on student loans there & could give you a heads up on how it all works

check out the bank websites - the student loans tend to be around the euro 2000 on a special deal and you don't have to start paying it back for 18 months and then if you clear it within 6 months you pay no interest- variations on this with every bank but thats the general gist of it.