Stove to heat a room versus room plus rads

sunnyside

Hello all,

We are in the midst of the planning stage of building a house. While discussing heating systems with our builder the other day, he recommended that we use a wood burning type stove to heat the living room but suggested he would not link this to the water nor rads. He felt that by linking to rads etc it would not be as good as using gas. There is natural gas where we are building.

I was under the impression that you could link to rads relatively straight forwardly, albeit using a competent, experienced plumber. And by using this system we would save lots of money on gas bills and have hot rads and hot water no probs.

Am I wrong?

Thanks for the advice

I am not an expert and I am sure you will get more detailed technical responses later, but here is my option.

I dont know what size your house will be and how many radiators you will have, but if you depend solely on a stove ( wood or multi-fuel),you will have to clean it out and fuel it up every single time you want to put a radiator on, or heat the water, 365 days of the year, and you cant do that on a timer, you have to do it yourself.

Of course, some people do, but it is a major decision to make.

Its hard to compete with the convenience of gas, and this is the builders option.

I am assuming that you are still in the planning stage. Do you have any expert advice on insulation / air-tightness and the heating needs of the house (other than your builder). Have you talked to the architect ?

You should get a proper assessment of the heating needs of the house and if you want a stove / boiler solution, get an estimate of what size if needs to be and what the fuel needs will be. It might be cheaper than gas, but depending on the size of your house, you will need to buy fuel.

Tks very much for your reply.

To expand:
2,400 sq. ft house. 2 storey. 4 bed roomed. I main bathroom. 1 ensuite.