Stolen/Lost Paintings

cod78

I'm a freelance artist. I gave some paintings to a restaurant to hang on their walls. The usual arrangement is that they're for sale so the restaurant gets free decoration and I get exposure. None sold after about a year so i decided to take them back. When I went to collect my paintings one was missing. I had the missing work priced at 2500. There was no written agreement but its a fairly common arrangement in the art world. Do i have a leg to stand on legally? i.e. are the restaurant obligated to give me the value they had it displayed at if they can't find it?

Thanks for your help.

C

it's a very tough one.

If you had a written agreement, you would be in a better position.

I would think that it would be difficult for a restaurant to monitor paintings. Someone could easily rob one and they might not notice it missing for a long time.

Do you suspect that they sold it and are just not telling you?

what is the usual procedure if someone wants to buy a painting. Does the restaurant take the money and pass it on to you?

Do they get commission?

Who is getting the better deal?

Do you want to deal with them again?

Thanks for the reply Brendan.

I was thinking they hadn't held up their side of the bargain because they took them down, put them in a store room and they went missing from there. The store room was only accessible through the kitchen and up the private stairs. They never contacted me to let me know they had taken them down. It was only when i contacted them 3 weeks later I discovered it. It would be hard to walk out of there with them unnoticed, they're 4ft x 4 ft approx. I have photos of my work on their walls. I also have a copy of the inventory of the paintings with prices that they diplayed on their walls.

They don't get a commission, but they save on having to buy quality art for their walls so its a quid pro quo, many places do it. They would usually take the money and pass it on if they sell.