Stockbroker Cork

RickyJ

I am looking for advice on transferring Lilly shares from Merrill Bank in the US to a stockbroker in Cork. I have been advised that the process of dealing with the bank on the death of my father would be a nightmare even though I hold his power of attorney. I have been advised by them, that now is the time to move all his shares to Ireland. I will only be making one or two large trades (to sell) per year, to cover some of the costs of long-term nursing home care. I have been looking at some of the fees for brokers in the city and they seem high, especially if there are only going to be a maximum of two trades per year. I have no experience in buying or selling shares but the total value that he holds is very significant, especially as the share price has increased by 50% in the past 12 months. This would mean that the broker will earn a significant fee for just holding them if there is a set percentage for the total amount being held on account.

Thanks in advance for any advice.

Why Cork when it's all virtual? I suggest Saxo. I transferred to them from another account and didn't charge any fees. Their monthly fee are considered high by some (I disagree) but I love their app and interface when I connect via web. Not sure if degiro or ibkr charge fees for transfers to them. The outgoing-stocks broker might charge you their fees anyway for such transfer but you can't avoid them if you made your decision to move...

Alas, there are no native Cork stockbrokers left, with the demise of W & R Morrogh some years ago. Cantor Fitzgerald have an office in Cork, but as LoveTrees says, as most stocks are now held in nominee acounts, then an online broker is possibly a better option, unless you are seeking advice, which is a different matter with different fees!

I take it that you’ve never met someone from Cork then…
(wish there was the laugh with tears-emojj)
Exactly my point. Thank you