Starting a business with Irish, UK and US directors

S

Sprozza

Apologies in advance for the slightly vague nature of the thread. It's something that I have very little knowledge of (for now) and have literally just started on doing my research into it. Obviously I'll be seeking professional advice in advance of making any decisions, but I hope to do a bit of personal research into it to ensure I know all the questions to ask when the time comes.

I am currently contemplating into going into business with two colleagues, one US based and one UK based. It will be to provide consultancy and management services to clients, the majority of which will probably be US based.

From a technical point of view, we're very confident that it will work out and we won't have any major issues in providing the services to our clients (we will have a number on our books from day one). However, the 'structure' side of it has me/us a little at sea for the moment.

We're currently looking at all of the options open to us. From a clients point of view, we feel that having a company incorporated in the US would be the preferrable route, but we all agree that this isn't a major factor so it's not a 'requirement' at the moment.

If anyone has any advice/suggestions/experience with such an undertaking...

• suggestions of experts who are familiar with the juristictions involved and associated complications
  • what you wished you knew before undertaking something similiar
  • why a partnership would be more beneficial than a company
  • why setting up a company in Ireland would be more beneficial than one in the US
  • good sources of information during the research into it

I would be delighted for any and all input that might be given. I'm sure I'll be back with dozens of questions as I start doing the research into it, but if someone can point out an issue or point us in the way of a beneficial route to go early on, I thought it only wise to ask.

tax