Standard variable Vs Tracker mortgage

shaktoo

which one is the best standard Variable or Tracker Mortgages. especially as interst rates are expected to rise in the near furute

Last edited by a moderator:
Re: STANDARD VARIABLE Vs TRACKER MORTGAGES

They have been saying that rates would increase for years now but they haven't yet. In general a low margin tracker is a better bet than a standard variable rate with no margin guarantee to minimise long term mortgage interest costs. If you can afford fluctuating repayments then go for the lowest margin tracker available to you. Standard variable rates offer no guarantee about the margin charged and the lender could increase it at any time.

I'm new to this game but i've done lots of research and as far as I'm concerned, a variable mortgage is essentially a tracker without any guaranteed maximum relative to the ECB rate

I remember reading an article in the Sunday Times a few years ago. They studied tracker, variable & fixed rate mortages over a ten year period. The bottom line was that the tracker worked out best value in the long run.

As for interest rates rising - the Irish economists have been predicting rises for the past two years now, but still no sign? If you look at the European statistics, all indications are that they will fall this year to stimulate further growth!

doggy said:
... a variable mortgage is essentially a tracker without any guaranteed maximum relative to the ECB rate

Which means that it's not a tracker. A tracker, by definition, charges a guaranteed rate of ECB + margin. A variable rate will follow the ECB rate but does not guarantee the margin.

thanks everyone.my next query is how to change about the variable to a tracker mortgage.i am currently with IIB and if anyone who have done the reseach already could please suggest the best tracker mortgage product i would be grateful.thanks. i would still be able to pay extra payements with a tracker as well wouldnt i?