splitting up - what to do with house and mortgage

N

Next In Line

Hi all,

A newbie here so bear with me as I have an awful lot of questions and I hope that I am in the right section.

Here goes...

I am splitting from my partner who I am not married to, we jointly own a house and I need to know what to do next. We split all the bills, morgage but not all the costs. I put down £70k deposite and paid for new roof and windows. He does not want the house as he cannot afford to keep it going but and has said that he is entitled to all of his morgage payments back. Is this true or is it just half of the capital that he should get back?

Then onto the mortgage, how does it work to remove someone from the mortgage? Do I need to apply for a new one and close the old joint one? He says that he is not liable for any costs and has said that he won't leave until his name is off the deeds.

Now I do have a little money to call on but am really worried about how to resolve everything, get him out and not bankrupt myself in the process, loose the house and everything that I have put in.

Not a pretty picture but its where I am. Advice welcome!

First off you need to get independent professional legal advice in my opinion. Have you arrange to see a solicitor (or the Legal Aid Board - http://www.legalaidboard.ie or FLAC - www.flac.ie if applicable)? I presume that a mediated settlement of the relevant issues may not be possible given your description of the situation right now?

http://www.citizensinformation.ie/en/birth_family_relationships/separation_and_divorce/
http://www.citizensinformation.ie/e...ion_and_divorce/family_mediation_service.html

He is definitely not entitled to all his mortgage payments back. A friend of mine was in a similar position a few years ago, when she left the joint owned apartment, he remortgaged and bought her out.

To make an easy break she agreed the money she originally put in as a deposit, he got to keep the apartment.