Splitting A LTD Company

P

paul7367

Hi there,
I am totally new to this so please bear with me and I will try and make this as short and uncomplicated as possible.
My business partner and I have run a Limited double Glazing for approx 12 years but now it's time to go our seperate ways.
We were originaly going to just close the business and go our seperate ways which would have been simple, however he has just announced to me that he wants to keep the business and buy me out, or me to be a share holder ( which I don't want )
I don't have a problem with selling my half as such but he says I cannot keep my Mobile number and business landline number either which I have had for 12 years and which is also my personal Mob number.

My Q's are:
1: If he buys my share what is he entitled too ? Ie: My phone numbers (land & mob ) - My e mail address - My Computer - My customers files

2: Can he stop me from re advertising and fitting windows under another name in a certain mile radius of where he lives

3: Can I mail shot all my records of customers to tell them I am starting up on my own as a sole trader

4: How would we work out what my half is worth

Any help at all would be much appreciated as I have had the rug pulled from under me today so to speak as my new business is almost ready to go but now he has dropped this little bombshell.
I really thought we were just going to go our seperate ways but now he's talking of legal advice etc.

Many thanks
Paul

You need expert professional advise from a good accountant/solicitor on these issues before agreeing to a final resolution with your business partner. I have had a similar experience some years ago where a business partnership ended acrimonously and it created many subsequent difficulties. I will respond generally to your queries but regard this as general advice only.