Siblings x 10- Advice prior to Mothers death

10amwalker

Reading the posts on how wills and the issue of what to do with the family home when the second parent dies has prompted this posting.

I am one of 10 children; thankfully all alive.
My Mum in her 80's lives alone in the family home.
Mum made a will years back and recently advised me that she wishes to change her will. I was told as she uses the same solicitor as myself and I will arrange the appointment and bring her there.
I do not know the content of the will- nor do I want to.
I have asked my Mum to be fair in her will however I have no knowledge as to whether my request was or will be heeded (when she changes her will)

However I am realistic to assume that following my Mothers death all will not be plain sailing. Life in such a large family with all siblings married (one divorced) has never been plain sailing. Life can be strange.

A brother and I are executors of my Mums will. We would not be the closest and have not spoken together about the fact that we are the executors. Yet I feel that we will both fulfil our roles diligently.

My family are very important to me and I would like if possible to minimise the family friction following my Mums death.
I expect it will be something like the sentimental pieces of jewellery that could give rise to World War 3...

Any advice please ?