Setting up a .ie website

CHarper

Hi

I have a full time job (PAYE worker) and I fix computers part time, maybe 4 or 5 computers a month. I would like to set up a .ie domain for myself. If I set up a company name for myself at cro dot ie to get the domain will there be tax implications as I'm a full time worker??

Any advise greatly appreciated

Why are you setting up as a company? Why not as a sole trader?

If you set up the company you will take a salary from the company and pay tax on it almost as if you were an employee.

If you set up as a sole trader you will account for your tax after the end of the calender year.

I don't have to set up as a company. I was told by a couple of hosting companies that I needed to do this that's all. Thanks for the advise jack2009

Just for info,

Web Hosting companies know nothing about tax implications or business registration.

So if I was a sole trader I would have to pay tax on anything I made fixing computers and my salary (main full time job) is unaffected?

I have done similar to you, I am a full-time paye worker and I am also registered as self-employed. If you haven't already done so they you should register as being self-employed. You don't need to register for VAT if your expected revenue outside of your paye income is less that a certain threshold (I think it is about 50k).

You have to submit tax returns by October 31st 2011 for any income you earn as being self employed in 2010. You will probably want to get an accountant to to do your tax return next year, it won't cost too much (I paid 150 euro). Make sure you keep receipts for expenses incurred while carrying out your work as a self-employeed person. Your accountant can advise you on what you can claim.

It is also worth looking into setting up a PRSA pension next year as it could be very tax efficient if you want to put your earnings into it.

Other than that the whole thing is quite straightforward. Your PAYE salary is unaffected.