Saving music from CD in MP3/WMA format

laragh

Bought the wife a new Panasonic CQ-C1321N MP3/WMA CD car radio for her birthday.

It has a front loading CD player and I understand that i can play MP3 format music on it if the music is saved in this format on a CD.

Am I right in saying I can transfer her CD collection (about 40 CD's) in MP3 format onto one CD-RW?

Do I need special software for this process(I think it's called ripping??)

Can you recommend software for the job (preferably free) and where I can download it?

Also what is WMA??

I'm no expert but a couple of things to be aware of:

1. Check the media type the Car radio / player can read - there are a couple - CD+R / CD-R / CD+RW / CD-RW

2. Yes you do need special software, and it IS called ripping - there are many many free programs available - look at www.pcworld.com at the downloads section for reviews of some

3. WMA stands for Windows Media Audio (and also the World Medical Association) which is Microsoft's proprietary audio format - afaik it is not as widely used as mp3 and so for ease of compatibility with other players it might be best to rip the songs to mp3 - however, I think if you have Windows XP and / or the Windows Media Player it has a CD ripper built in, but only rips to WMA (I think!) - RealPlayer may have one as well but I'm not sure

efm

I would recommend Musicmatch, that's what I use for ripping cds to MP3. The basic version is free. Windows Media Player might do the same thing, but I don't use it so I don't know. WMA=Windows Media Audio.

You can usually get around 200-300 songs on a single cd in MP3 format (maybe more/less depending on the quality). I think WMA is better quality and more compressed than MP3, but don't know too much about it.

Windows Media Player 9 can rip to both MP3 and WMA.

If you use Windows Media Player 9 to rip to WMA at 64 kps, you would fit twice as much on your CD , compared with ripping to MP3 at 128 kps - and no loss of quality.