Satellite LNB Question

procus

Hi a quick question about FTA Satellite, please excuse my ignorance but I am not an expert on satellites.

I understand that in order to

Connect another tv to my satellite FTA so i can watch other chanels at the same time. I need a second receiver and a twin or quad lnb and run a new cable to the new the satellite receiver from the dish.

My Question is what is the LNB loopthrough used for ,
Could I use this to link the second receiver to the first receiver without running the cable back outside and purchasing a new LNB? What is the LNB Loopthrough used for?
Thanks in advance.

The loopthrough is used for connecting two hardwares to the dish. eg. a pc and a sat.reciever box. but if i remember you cant watch different stations at the same time. You see, the twin LNB allows you to aim each arm at a different satellite. But i've never tried it. You really need a twin LNB for this unless you want to buy a LNB which has two connections on the bottom of it to scew the TWO cables onto giving the virtual twin LNB effect. (but only different channels on the same satellite)
In english I think the loopthrough is basically to clone the signal (relay the signal) to different sources around the house.

So:AFAIK yes, you can link the first reciever box to another, obviously yu'll need the first switched on all the time & cant watch different stations on the different boxes.(If you are a FTA user and also want to be a SKY user but dont want two dishes hanging out of your chimney you can ''loopthrough'' the signal from the FTA reciever to the SKY reciver using the same dish and same LNB provided it is pointed at the right sarellite., ergo now you probably have too many stations available to get your dog his dinner.)

Apologies for my messiness, im doing homework as well and as you know men can't multi-task..lol

Hi snakebite, hope you are well, ok ive tried hooking up a second decoder to the first decoder and stood well back ! from tv sets!