ROS form 11 artists exemption and foreign income

tpower

so I am an artist (sole trader) living in Dublin and i have the artists exemption for 2012. during that year i did a illustration job for a company based in California. this job was done from home, and i email them the final work, for payment (13,000euros) they transferred money into my bank account.

So my question is do i need to put this money in the foreign income section of the form and if so where. also will i get my artist exemption on this income or is it taxable. the company in the states told me i haven't paid tax on their side and i remember they did have me fill out a w8ben.

For the other money i made during the year (6000euro) do i only enter this under the artists exemption section of the form and leave the assessable profit as 0 in the profit assessable in 2012.

Thanks for any help.

For the other money i made during the year (6000euro) do i only enter this under the artists exemption section of the form and leave the assessable profit as 0 in the profit assessable in 2012.

It seems to me that all the income for which you are claiming exemption should go into the artists' exemption section of the form.

There is a space at the front for expressions of doubt. You can put it in the artists' exemption bit and put in a note that the income came from overseas.

I don't think that there is any condition in the artists' exemption for the sale of work to overseas clients. And so the income should not be shown as overseas income.

You should verify this for yourself though with one of the following:

• the Revenue
  • an accountant with experience of artists' income ( e.g.

Gaby Smyth & Co
    92 Merrion Road
    Ballsbridge
    Dublin 4
    Phone: 01 6688299
    Email: gaby@gsco.ie)
  • a professional body such as Visual Artists' Irleand
Brendan