Retirement savings for tax exempt earner?

simp

Hi:-

I'm a sole trader, and a significant proportion of my earnings are tax emempt under the artists' exemption, so my annual tax bill is very low.
Until last year I was channeling all my savings into buying a house, and now that that has happened, I want to focus on retirement savings.
I have, however, been told by a couple of brokers that it is not efficient for me to invest in a pension, as its main advantage would be its tax efficiency, which does not apply in my situation. They have advised a long term retirement savings strategy instead.
Would anyone care to comment on whether this is good advice?

Thanks!

I have, however, been told by a couple of brokers
What sort of brokers - i.e. how independent is this advice? Were they authorised advisors, multi-agency intermediaries (dealing with how many companies?) or tied agents?
They have advised a long term retirement savings strategy instead.
Well - depends on what specifically they were suggesting as an alternative.

Does the possibility of a 25% lump sum tax free from the accumulated pension fund at retirement not benefit you even though the other tax advantages don't apply here? Might you ever be earning taxable income in the future in which case contributions made before then when no tax was due maye (not sure) be offsettable against taxed income when you are in this situation?

What sort of brokers - i.e. how independent is this advice? Were they authorised advisors, multi-agency intermediaries (dealing with how many companies?) or tied agents?

An online execution only broker, and two multi-agency intermediaries. I am about to try to track down a reputable independent financial advisor, but thought I should pose the question here first...