Replacing old electric storage heaters

fizzy

hi all,

firstly, i've read the key posts and done some searches already so apologies if this is covering old ground but i would really appreciate some advice.

i'm considering buying a 20-25 yr old apartment at the moment. it is in a large block and has electric storage heating. the apartment needs redecorating, and from the surveyor's report it needs a bit of tlc behind the scenes as well e.g. new water tank and signs of bad ventilation/poor insulation.

the surveyor said that the storage heaters are very dated and are not much use, so i should consider replacing them. i have no experience of storage heating in a home (just brief experience in an office) but i am not keen on it from the bits i have heard. it seems to not give out much real heat, to make places stuffy and to be quite fiddly to get to work well and costly.

now, my mum got onto esb about replacing the storage heaters to be told that they stopped doing everything to do with electric heating when they shut their shops. we have found a couple of electricians in the phone book who will do replacement heaters but not everybody seems to dabble in it.

so i am quite concerned. bad enough as i thought putting up with storage heating would be, if it is a legacy system that is no longer put in anywhere and is hard to find people to maintain, that could be a deal breaker.

the thoughts of putting substantial money into modernising an apartment, when something as basic as the heating may always significantly let it down, seems unwise too. :(

i would appreciate any advice on this from those who have recent experience of storage heating.

many thanks,
fizzy.

Hi Fizzy,

Storge heating is still common in new build apartments, so I doubt there will be any shortage in the neccessary skills and experience to install and maintain these systems for quite some time.
Leo