Rent as income

C

Ciatie

I recently decided to take a few years break from my career to spend time with my young children. I'm thinking of investing in an investment property (in my name and as a registered landlord) and have a few questions.

1) Can I claim the rent as my own income?

2) How will I be taxed on the income as we're jointly assessed? What is the position on the tax rates and tax bands? Is it still 38,400 @ 20% Balance @ 42% or can we claim 38,400 @ 20% with increase of 20,400 max. Balance @ 42% with the rental income counted as my income?

Thanks
Ciatie

Hi Ciatie,

I'm not a tax expert, but as nobody else has answered you....

1) Yes. But I would think the property may have to be in your name.

2) I understand that you can avail of the advantageous tax bands enjoyed by double earners jointly accessed.

We have put a foreign property in Mrs. DonKings name for the above reasons.

Ciatie,

To be honest the chances of you making a profit in the first few years is slim.
By the time you factor in mortgage interest, fixtures and fittings, maintenance costs, fees for letting, management fees etc. These are all yearly costs.

Add to that the initial costs of stamp duty, solicitor fees.
Think carefully and do the figures before jumping in and expecting to make a profit straight away.

In answear to your questions:
1) Doesn't really matter as your jointly assessed.
2) See above, I reckon for the first few years you will be carrying forward a loss.

brigade said:
Ciatie,
To be honest the chances of you making a profit in the first few years is slim.
By the time you factor in mortgage interest, fixtures and fittings, maintenance costs, fees for letting, management fees etc. These are all yearly costs.

Add to that the initial costs of stamp duty, solicitor fees.
Think carefully and do the figures before jumping in and expecting to make a profit straight away.

In answear to your questions:
1) Doesn't really matter as your jointly assessed.