Renault Grand Scenic - engine knocking noise

lfcjfc

Last week the engine of our 2005 1.5dCi Grand Scenic started to make an very loud rhythmic knocking/tapping noise. The car appears to be running fine with full power but is making a racket. A local guy that dabbles in cars had a listen and thought it sounded like a serious engine problem - was talking about the "big-end" etc. Its now with the garage and they are saying that it needs 2 fuel injectors - likely to cost €1000. They cant say that this is the only problem though - could be the start of the spending! Does this sound plausible - anybody know if a car with a couple of dodgy fuel injectors could make such a noise?
thanks

injectors cost alot to replace as the engine has to be taken apart from what i know. also if the injectors break and they can get sucked into the engine proper then it can ruin the engine altogether

I'm not a Renault expert, but the problem (which apparently is not unusual in these engines) sounds like it could be linked to a pressure regulator valve on the common rail direct injection (CRDI) diesel engines used across the Renault range. These use high-pressure injection (1.0k to 1.8k BAR).

If a mechanic touches the injector rail and it pulses / vibrates in sync with the knock, then I would be inclined to suspect the pressure regulator valve. I have no idea if these specific valves can cleaned / repaired or what they might cost to replace.

If you can, try and get a decent independent diesel expert to check the car rather than a main dealer.

Thanks for the information folks.