registering a business?

el-jimbo

Hi all,

Firstly let me apologize in advance if this gets confusing!

I am a web designer currently working for a small company. I have an idea for a website i would like to run myself. I would eventually hope to make money out of it and run it as my primary business. I would require a .ie website address, and since it won't be run under my own name, I would require a registered business name. My first question is, since I am currently to busy to work on the site, but I would still like to register it to secure the name, would this cause any tax complitcations for me if I did register the business? At the start, for up to a year and maybe more there would be no income into the business from the site.

A second question, relating to this, I also fix computers in my spare time. Its only a small thing and I only do 1 or 2 a month and its mainly for friends for a minimal fee. Some of these people are self employed and use their computers for work, so if i could bill them for VAT they could claim this back, so if I did set up my business name, would I be able to bill them through the business so they could claim back the vat? Would i require any extra steps apart from registering the business to do this, and if so would it be complicated to do?

I'd really appreciate any feedback and advise anyone can give me,

Thanks

You can register a business name at the CRO ( www.cro.ie ) as a sole trader. Form RBN1. That gives you the name. You do not have to commence trading straight away. Remember though registration of a business name is mainly intended where you are going to trade under a name not your own. It does not protect that name from duplication by someone else.