Recording from Sky+ to DVD recorder

You need to leave the TV on playing the program to record, as I discovered after many months messing about with it.

Its as if you're 'taping' from the TV.

Ah, I haven't tried that thanks I'll give it a go (when Munster are finished walloping the Kiwis that is )

Haha hope it works for you.

I have a Philips recorder (I know the make doesnt matter) but I tried for ages to tape some kids programs off the recordings.

One day as I tried, someone called to the door so I headed off leaving the recording playing, and the DVD recording - and when I came back, I checked and it worked.

So good luck!!

Sorry but some of the replies on here are confusing me.

I have been recording off my Sky+ for several years without any hassle. What was the problems you encountered?

I am guessing that you selected the COPY option on the Sky menu and hit RECORD on the DVD recorder, but then switched on to a different programme on the Sky box. If you are recording off your Sky+ box you MUST watch back what you are recording. No other way I'm afraid.

i usually set it to record when i am heading to bed. that way no one can accidently switch the channel.

I selected copy on the planner and pressed record on the dvd player and nothing happened so I'm going to try playing it and hope for the best!

I selected copy on the planner and pressed record on the dvd player and nothing happened so I'm going to try playing it and hope for the best!

Is this a joke? Seriously?

If not, then I'm afraid that you actually have to play the recording back to copy it. The DVD recorder will only record what the Sky box is outputing, which is nothing until you hit PLAY.

That 'COPY' option seems to be a bit of a waste of time imho. I think you would only use it if you are recording more than 1 programme and want to create a 'playlist'.