Recommend a good Android Tablet

Shawady

I'm thinking of getting an android tablet but know very little about them. Any advice would be appreciated.
My main use would be the usual stuff, surfing the web, watching TV/movies, viewing photos and possible skype.

I know they are not direct replacements for laptops but was wondering is it possible to write documents on tablets and transfer them to word on another PC.

We have no landline or wifi at home. My wife gets the internet on her laptop with a plug-in USB (metoer I think). Could I use the same device on a tablet or would this be an issue for me.

As i say, i'm a bit of a novice in this area and any suggestions would be helpful.

Depends on budget and the size of screen you want. Perhaps either the Nexus 7 or the Asus Eee Pad with click-on keyboard. Both should work with a usb internet dongle but they are dog slow and you should consider getting proper wireless broadband.

I know they are not direct replacements for laptops but was wondering is it possible to write documents on tablets and transfer them to word on another PC.
Yes, it is.
We have no landline or wifi at home. My wife gets the internet on her laptop with a plug-in USB (metoer I think). Could I use the same device on a tablet or would this be an issue for me.
What you could do is get a 3G wifi modem - and insert the sim into it -rather than the usb dongle. That way, either of you could access the interweb wirelessly with both devices.

I bought a 3G wifi modem from these guys.
It means I can take the SIM from the wireless dongle and put it into the modem and bounce it around the house. I bought an external aerial also which you may/may not need.
They were extremely helpful and will reply to any mails/questions - I'd definitely use them again.

No affiliation, blah blah.....

amazon are reported to be launching the Kindle Fire for Europe within the next month or so. apple are reported to be announcing a 7" iPad in October.