recommend a camcorder

seaflower

I'm looking to get a digital camcorder and was wondering if anybody can give me good tips on important/essential features, or their oppinion of different brands? Want a good compromise between functionality/price, as I won't be filming too often, and probably won't need 40x zoom, etc.

Any recommendations for shops in Dublin, or online shops?

Thanks!

I'm not a camcorder expert, but have a Canon digital camcorder which I always found reliable. But I would recommend Pixmania for the prices - some incredibly cheap models on their site which would cost a fair bit more over here . But do a price comparison first with the likes of www.pixels.ie etc.

I've never had a complaint with Pixmania , the delivery charge of eur13 is acceptable for a 3-4 day delivery service.

Canon are arguably one of the best camera / camcorder makes.

[broken link removed] have good prices on their camcorders.

Thank you for the replies, will check them out. I am a bit wary of buying things like that online, just in case there is a problem, and the service will be very hard. But having said that, my neighbourgh bought a camcorder from powercity, which was faulty, and couln't return it!!! Thanks again

I'm still looking for a camcorder and almost decided on Canon MiniDV MV830i - any comments from anybody? Also wondering another thing - the tech spec mentions 'tapes' - and I thought digital camcorders use digital storage media?

How big tapes do I need if I want to be able to film lets say 2 hours? Do I need any special cables - e.g. for transferring the video onto my laptop? Any other required accessories?

Thanks alot for your help and sorry for all the questions - the baby is due in few weeks and I really have to order this and figure out how it works asap

In a similar position - baby on way and needed a camcorder.