Radon

H

Highlander01

I'm relatively new to the country, heard a lot about Radon, do builders have to provide evidence that a radon 'barrier' has been installed at the foundation level - a bit ignorant of the whole thing here, can you please advise.

Thanks

No, nor do they have to with anything. It is within the building regulations, and on self build, the engineer should be verifying it has been completed at groundwork stage.

will supply more detailed information and test-kits. Hope this helps.

So if the builder says they have and it subsequently turns out they haven't, is there any recourse?

Should be

Maps on the website show badly affected areas. Recall from Kerryman that high levels for eg around Castleisland, but it appears Tralee also a hotspot.

Thanks Vanilla,

Since July 1998, every new house is required to incorporate some degree of radon preventive measures at the time of construction in accordance with the revised . The degree of protection required is dependent upon whether or not the site is located within a High Radon Area.

HL,

My builder installed a radon barrrier as evidenced by a small green plastic vent at the back of the house.

Im not sure what recourse you have where a builder claims to have conformed with the building regulations and has not.

Was your house checked by an Engineer at the various stages of construction?

aj

If the builder has put the radon barrier in correctly then it should be sticking out from between the blockwork, I think it should be 1 row below the Damp Proof Course.