Radon Barrier

Mr Tayto

Hi

Does anyone have an estimated price for the supply of a radon barrier & tape, also what sizes does it come in.

Thanks in advance

Mr Tayto

Hi, we just got some there and it is €98 a roll which is 100 metres I think, We got 3 rolls and tape and it came to €360ish but we are after laying it thinking we had 80 or so metres to spare but we have ran short 3/4 way through so have to get another roll. I think our man is a bit wasteful though!

Abbica, Im not sure is it the Radon membrane as opposed to Radon barrier that you have installed!

1600 Gauge Radon barrier 4X25M roll €215.92
Tape 2 sided 30m roll €14.05
Sump €18.17
Link €12.48
Top Hat €7.25

Thats what we pay for them at work at the moment, so that does include a builders discount.

Im no expert and only heard this second hand myself so dont quote me ;) but the Radon membrane is for low level areas of radon the membrane is for the areas higher effected and that need more protection!

As i say im no expert, so if anybody could confirm! I just know we cant get Radon Barrier for that price.

No jollyman, you are slightly off. A Damp Proof Membrane is required in all dwellings... a Radon Barrier is required in areas prone to high radon levels.

The Damp Proof Membrane is usually 1200 gauge.
The Radon Membrane is usually measured in μm rather than in 'gauge'.... ie 300μm or 400 μm... these are usually 'heshined' to prevent tearing and induce strength.

So if something is described as a 'radon membrane' or 'radon barrier' it should be essentially the same thing.... while the alternative is DPM or damp proof membrane.

Syd,

That probably explains it better, but there still seems to be a significant price variation there.

Is radon barrier compulsory, or can you test for radon before building the house? Or contact Radon Ireland?