Radiator not working

gebbel

Folks I've read the threads on how to bleed a radiator, and successfully carried this out. Problem is the radiator is still cold as ice when the heating is on. Is there anything else that can be done before I call out a professional?

I'm no expert but I had problem with my gas boiler and got it working with the help of a neighbour.

So if you have a GAS boiler check the press display on the boiler unit

It need to be at least one, no press equals no heat

Did it get progressively worse or is this sudden?

A few likely culprits (assuming there have been no changes in your heating system generally)

Sludge build up - can be successfully remedied but sometimes not - worst case new rad. Easy but messy job: drain system, turn off water and flush out with power hose.

Problem with stuck thermostat or valve - possible plumber job if you're not confident but not a big expensive job.

You said you bled the air, did you bleed until you got water? Did you add water from the supply source to displace the volume of air/water that you let escape. Finally, when you open the bleeder do you get water under pressure. If not, start over. Add water (check the pressure in the system - no gage, might be time to add one for better monitoring and control) start the bleeding process all over, keep adding water as necessary, a warm radiator will result.

switch all the rest off to force flow through the cold rad. that should shift any blockages/air that is trapped. you might need to balance them all afterwards to make sure the flow is evenly distributed across all the rads

You said you bled the air, did you bleed until you got water?

Yes

Did you add water from the supply source to displace the volume of air/water that you let escape.

No, the quantity of water that came out was only a trickle.

Finally, when you open the bleeder do you get water under pressure.

The water squirted out, if that's what you mean?