Rabo Investment Funds Question

davidpatrick

Hi

Sorry if this is a stupid question, but I’m completely new to all this so bear with me please!

I have a question on Rabo Investment Funds. My understanding is that you pick a fund(s) and agree a fixed amount each month to further invest. From what I understand you should really be aiming to keep these for medium to longer term to see a real return?

So just for example

I pick a fund from Rabo (presumably ‘cos I think its priced well and will increase in value) and I agree to purchase a further 100 per month. Let’s say I keep it for 5 years I will have bought 6K of the fund

What I don’t get is that if the fund is indeed well priced now and is on the up, why would I buy more and more of the fund every month for a few years at increased prices each month? If I believe that it will increase, does it not make more sense to buy a 6K lump sum now and sit on it instead?

Am I missing something here?

On an aside - once you agree to pay your additional 100 / month (eg). At some stage can you stop the additional purchases this without having to cash in the fund?

All help is welcomed

Cheers

You don't have to buy some every month. You can buy using a lump sum amount just as you described. You are obviously in a regular investing plan. You can stop it anytime you want.

Thanks for the quick reply.

So is my logic sound, in that there is not some advantage (I cat see) in buying regularly each month? It makes more sense to buy in Lump sums when the price is right?

Yes your logic is spot-on BUT how do you know when the price is right ?

All academic research into this question (and there is an awful lot of it spanning decades) comes up with the same answer over and over again - no one can reliably pick the right moment.

So is my logic sound, in that there is not some advantage (I cat see) in buying regularly each month? It makes more sense to buy in Lump sums when the price is right?