Questions on becoming a sole trader

S

Steve_b

I am currently looking to become a sole trader, the business I am looking into is a franchise. It basically runs itself and only requires my input once a week. But I also have a full time job, so this will be on the side.

The business I am looking to run will only make around 17-19 k per year net. I just want to know if being a sole trader will I require an accountant for tax returns, as I have no idea about this part. If I become a sole trader will I have to fill tax returns each month or just at the end of year, and if I made say 17k for that physical year net, how much do I pay on tax?

Or is it based on gross?

Last question is based on my own tax as a employee, will this be affected if I earn as a sole trader as well?

I know its a lot, but I am new to this

Thanks guys

Thats a lot of questiions Steve! I suggest you read the guide to small business on the revenue website and comeback here with anything that needs clarification

"The business I am looking to run will only make around 17-19 k per year net. I just want to know if being a sole trader will I require an accountant for tax returns, as I have no idea about this part. If I become a sole trader will I have to fill tax returns each month or just at the end of year, and if I made say 17k for that physical year net, how much do I pay on tax?"

What is the gross turover? depending on nature of trade you may be required to register for VAT- or you may want to choose to register for VAT even if below the registration thresholds.

Tax will be on the net profit of the business less any capital allowances at your marginal rate

2. "Or is it based on gross?" no

3. "Last question is based on my own tax as a employee, will this be affected if I earn as a sole trader as well?"
No-- unless you want to reduce the tax credits applied to your current employment and allocate them to your new venture

Last edited: