Questions for an architect

Kramer

Hi,

I am just beginning the long road to hopefully building my dream home.
I have scheduled a meeting with an architect tomorrow and am wondering what type of questions I should be asking them.

Thanks

An Architect wil probably use this meeting to get information and develop a brief. For example:

Size / shape / layout of house?
1 / 2 storey / dormer? (Planning dependant)
Sizes & number of rooms (bedrooms, recreational, utiluty, etc)
Storage
Heating - oil / gas / underfloor / solar etc
Finishes - internal and external
General finishes - floors, walls, etc
Kitchen - shape, layout, finishes
WC's

Most importantly, agree a scheme, establish your budget and stick to it. Get an architect to schedule out all major items of expenditure, so you can see where your money is going.

Further meetings will then develop this information into drawings for a planning application. Try and have every thing buttoned down before going to a builder - try to avoid changes during the build, these will be more expensive.

Last edited:
~Theres a magazing called 'HOUSE' out on sale at the moment. It has a purple colour on the top and 'architecure,design,garden,advice' written underneath it. they have an excellent article about what to discuss when you are dealing with your architect for the first time. They also have reproductions of plans of existing houses, which are handy for getting inspiration!

These 20 questions from the RIAI might help:

[broken link removed]

Also some notes on working with your architect:

[broken link removed]

Note also from the latter: