Quantity Surveying Services

kkelliher

hello all

I would welcome peoples perceptions of quantity surveyors and the services on offer.

If you have used them how did you get on, would you recommend to others.

If you have not what would make you interested, what service do you think you would like.

As a quantity surveyor I am interested in what people would like to be offered. Quantity Surveying is very benifical to all builders (professional, self builder etc etc) but it appears that most people dont know what they do. How can we change this. Everyone knows what an architect does but most dont know what a QS does?

I would welcome comments.

Regards

keith

Everyone knows what an architect does .....

but they dont know what an Architectural Technician does......:)

the problem as i see it Keith, is two fold...

1. the client doesnt want to spend the fees on a service they expect the builder to provide

2. it suits the builders to continue the ad hoc, word of mouth, contractural system that most residential projects in this country are built by.... they will never recommed a QS to the client....

there should be a statutory requirement on every employee / employer situation to sign a detailed contract..... therefore if a bill of quantities and detailed construction spec and drawings are included its at the builders expense if the build goes over his quotation.....

theres very few builders out there that would agree to that....

it pisses me off totally when i send out detailed tender packages... the builders seem too scared to either price it or they stick a grossly overpriced quote in......

dealing with a builders QS is usually grand pre-contract, then
once the contract is signed it seem as though the gloves are
off.... If I ever see a variation claim of €3 AGAIN for a draw wire I'll
pull someones head off :mad:

I'm assuming that this discussion is regarding small works?